The Blitzboks are back in action at the Singapore Sevens

The Blitzboks are back in action at the Singapore Sevens this weekend, looking to make up some lost ground and soothe the woes of the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

After a disappointing outing at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, the Blitzboks are back in action on the World Series Sevens circuit.

This week, the team heads to Singapore, where they’ll be looking to not only soothe the woes of the Commonwealth Games, but also extend their lead at the top of the World Series Sevens log.

South Africa are just three points ahead of second-placed Fiiji, so they need a good show this weekend.

South Africa will play in Group C, against Samoa, Canada and Argentina.

Here are the fixture times for the Blitzboks matches in Singapore:
All times are SAST, all pool matches will be played on Saturday, 28 April.

6:06 South Africa vs Samoa
9:34 South Africa vs Canada
13:00 South Africa vs Argentina

Knock-out matches
All of these will happen on Sunday, 29 April.
Quarterfinals start at 6:06
Semifinals start at 12:14
The final will be at 14:00

Blitzbok coach Neil Powell has mixed up the squad and said that he hopes the side can come together and gel.

“We have one group of guys who are very keen to maintain their form from Hong Kong and show they deserve a permanent spot in the team‚ and another group itching to redeem themselves after the disappointment of Australia‚” Powell said.

“It is great to have 12 players all wanting to prove a point; the danger will be if they wanted to do so as individuals. So the message is a simple one‚ play as a team and we will achieve more.

“We always knew that three tournaments in four weeks would be really taxing‚ hence the decision to send different teams to Hong Kong and Gold Coast and then combine them for Singapore.

“I am happy that we have a lot of energy in the squad for this weekend.”

Heino Bezuidenhout (1 tournament, 6 matches, 5 points, 1 try), Ryan Oosthuizen (7 tournaments, 27 matches, 30 points, 6 tries), Kyle Brown (captain; 64 tournaments, 324 matches, 420 points, 84 tries), Zain Davids (10 tournaments, 42 matches, 35 points, 7 tries), Dylan Sage (21 tournaments, 116 matches, 140 points, 28 tries), Rosko Specman (25 tournaments, 137 matches, 338 points, 62 tries, 14 conversions), Selvyn Davids (4 tournaments, 19 matches, 76 points, 10 tries, 12 conversions), Cecil Afrika (59 tournaments, 309 matches, 1395 points, 170 tries), Werner Kok (34 tournaments, 166 matches, 370 points, 74 tries), Stedman Gans (9 tournaments, 36 matches, 45 points, 9 tries), Muller du Plessis (3 tournaments, 14 matches, 40 points, 8 tries), Siviwe Soyizwapi (15 tournaments, 71 matches, 235 points, 47 tries), James Murphy * (1 tournament, 6 matches, 0 points)

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.